By Rahmat Adebayo

Oba Shotobi Annual Independence Day Mini-marathon has been in existence for 7years, it begins with 72 athletes which has increased tremendously over the years.

It was initiated by Hon. SOB Agunbiade the majority leader and member Lagos state House of Assembly, Ikorodu constituency 1, in conjunction with Oba Kabiru Shotobi. This program was laid to celebrate the birth of the nation independence with the leaders of tomorrow (youth).

The independence mini marathon is an avenue for identifying young athletes and supporting their dream of being a professional, it has awaken the youth interest towards sport and other games which make this year program an elaborate one, the athlete varies from age 10 to 16.

Variety of sponsors contributed to the success of the program such as Mrs Anike Adekanye from Education district II, Caleb University amongst others.

445 athletes participated in this year marathon as 50 athletes were awarded unlike last edition whereby only 40 athletes has access to gifts.

The first runner up for the female and male were given cash price of 50 thousands Naira each in person of Odufolakan Rebecca and Ayomide Lukman while the second position goes to Bashiru Awawu and Sarumi Rasak with cash price of 30 thousand Naira.

Hon. SOB Agunbiade in his remarks which emphasize on recognizing and training young talent, He said “Training of the young and helping them realize their dream in sport likewise any other things is his intention, this type of program attracts development, if this contribute to the development of ikorodu, it will surely contribute to the development of the country, the program encourages those that are yet to participate in or register for the program to come out to show their talent.

The Vice Chairman of Ikorodu Local Government, Aarebirin Hon Princess Folashade Olabanji-Oba in her remarks, “The program is mainly for sourcing talents, bringing development into Ikorodu, the program helps bring together youths from different schools and community in Ikorodu to showcase their strength in long distance racing.

Dignitaries presents at the marathon are: Oba Kabiru Shotobi, Oba Semiu Orimadegun Kasali, Oba Raji, Senator Adeseye Ogunlewe, Ashipa Kaoli Olusanya, Chief Elesho, Hon. Toyin Gafaar DG Lagos State Sport Commission, Dr. Abiodun Abatan, Vice Chairman Ikorodu Local Government Aarebirin Hon Princess Folashade Olabanji-Oba,Vice Chairman Ikorodu North LCDA Hon. Ameen Apanishile amongst others.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: